Home Made Ice Cream at 176 Middlesex Road in Tyngsboro Massachusetts

Memorial Scholarship

John R. Carson Memorial Scholarship

Most of the proceeds from this race help to fund a scholarship that is awarded each year at CHS’s Spring Sports Award Night. Criteria for selection of the recipient are as follows:

  • Must be a CHS senior boy.
  • Must be a distance runner (1/2 mile and longer).
  • Must be a member of the CHS cross-country, winter track and/or spring track teams.
  • Must have been accepted at an accredited college or university and plan to attend it.

The recipient is selected by a committee composed of running coaches and the athletic director based on the way that he exemplifies John’s running skills, teamwork and leadership.

As of June 2013 a total of $60,000 had been awarded for this scholarship. Past recipients are:


1988                                 Eric Beauchesne

1989                                 Jayme Fishman and David Beaton

1990                                 Steven Kelts

1991                                 Jonathan Grange

1992                                 Keith Curran

1993                                 Owen Evans

1994                                 Robert Therrien

1995                                 Steve Mayol

1996                                 Steven Rivard

1997                                 Douglas Welch

1998                                 Michael Curran

1999                                 Sean McCarthy

2000                                 Patrick O’Shaughnessy

2001                                 Chris Eynation

2002                                 Michael Ryan

2003                                 Brian Nagle

2004                                 Joe Ryan

2005                                 David J. Dowd

2006                                 Josh Andrews

2007                                 Gregory Wilson

2008                                 Chris Brown

2009                                 Tyler Murphy

2010                                 William Warren

2011                                 Lee Burgess

2012                                 Rob Massey

2013                                 Daniel Nolan